The Feltmakers Design Award 2010

The Feltmakers Design Award 2010

Judging in progress at the Haberdashers’ Hall

This year the judging of the Feltmakers’ Design Award took place on March 18th at Haberdashers’ Hall in the City of London. The competition was once again organised by Past Master Bill Horsman who saw to it that the day ran smoothly. On the judging panel were Freddie Fox, Eda Rose Lawson and Rachel Trevor-Morgan who are all Liverymen and milliners. We were very pleased to be joined by fellow milliner Edwina Ibbotson and the Editor of the Hat Magazine, Nigel Denford.

Our model Jasmine shows off the winning entry in the courtyard of Haberdashers' Hall

There were over thirty-five entrants from colleges around the country and the standard of the work was as high as ever.

The first prize went to Awon Golding from Kensington and Chelsea College.  Taking inspiration from the geometry of Art Deco architecture and crystalline structures, she created a beautifully crafted and balanced headpiece using felt and leatherette. She will receive a cheque for £1200.

The second prize was won by Marissa Groom from Leeds College of Art. This very finely executed and sculpted hat was inspired by the work of the artist Lucy McLauchlan. She will receive a cheque for £600.

2nd. Prizewinner

3rd. prizewinning design

Winner of the craftsmanship prize

Taking third prize was Anna Pulleyn, once again from Kensington and Chelsea College. Anna’s ‘Dear John’ hat told a story whose inspiration started with postage stamps. She very cleverly took the notion of where they had travelled and the messages they had sent, which in turn led her to nostalgia and forgotten personal histories. The judges were all taken with the thought and inspiration that had led to her 1940’s hat with its fine veiling and felt lettering. She will receive a cheque for £400.

Further prizes of £200 were awarded as follows:

The Craftsmanship Prize was awarded  to Yulia Silina from Kensington and Chelsea for her felt ‘swirl’.

Innovative use of felt prizewinner which can be worn on the back of the head...

The Commercial Appeal prize was awarded to Esther Louise Mathews from Janie Lashford’s School of Millinery for her green velour felt hat with embroidered .trim

... or on the front.

The Artwork and Presentation prize was awarded to Coral Carmichael from Northampton College for her colourful ‘Madame Butterfly’ inspired drawings.

The Innovative Use of Felt prize was awarded to Rhain Kempandoo-Millar from Leeds College of Art for her intricate cut felt design.

Winner of the prize for commercial appeal

Towards the end of the judging we were joined by Susan Wood, Master of the Feltmakers, the Lady Mayoress, Claire Anstee and the two Sheriffs’ wives, Liz Wootton and Julie Cook and our clerk Jollyon Coombs, who were able to witness the final decision making. This event was appropriately brought to its conclusion by a delicious lunch.

Prizewinner for artwork and presentation

The winner of this years’ Feltmakers Design Award will attend the Ladies Banquet in June where she will be presented with her Prize.

Rachel Trevor-Morgan


Comments are closed